Is Soy Gluten-free?

Many people on a gluten-free diet will use soy as a substitute mistakenly thinking that it is a gluten-free source. In fact, there are various perceptions about soy that with new research change.

According to the Weston A. Price Foundation for Wise Traditions in Food, “More than sixty percent of processed, packaged foods—including many gluten-free products—contain soy ingredients, and it’s in nearly one hundred percent of fast foods.”[1] So soy is in many more products that many people might think.

One of the oldest revealing studies in the Scandinavian Journal of Gastroenterology1 showed that some of the adults involved in the research with celiac disease had diarrhea, headache, nausea and flatulence after eating a tiny amount of soy on a gluten-free diet.

Get expert advice on how to choose safe soy products from a functional nutritionist by clicking HERE!

Why avoid soy

  • Soy in soy foods and soy milk is full of protease inhibitors, lectins, oxalates, oligosaccharides and allergenic proteins that play a role in irritation.
  • It has a low amount of methionine that is used for gut rebuilding and immune support
  • This product is also low in the amino acid cysteine that is vital for detoxification.

Soy links to health problems

  • Thyroid Function and Health Challenges
  • Malnutrition
  • Thyroid and Fatigue
  • Digestive distress
  • Thyroid Gland and Hormones
  • Thyroid disorders. You can read more:
  • Thyroid Disorders: Goiter, Graves, Hypo- and Hyperthyroidism, Hashimoto’s Thyroiditis, Autoimmune Disease
  • Thyroid Cancer
  • Immune system breakdown
  • Thyroid and Menopause
  • You can read more:
  • ADD & ADHD: Can Nutritional Changes Help?
  • ADD
  • Heart disease
  • You can read more:
  • Breast Cancer – What is P53?
  • Thyroid Cancer
  • Breast Cancer in Teenage girls
  • Infertility
  • Libido loss, etc.1

Gluten cross-contamination

Although some soy products might seem that they don’t have any gluten, it might be wrong. Same goes for pure soybeans that shouldn’t have any gluten as the gluten protein that is to blame for celiac disease, and non-celiac gluten sensitivity is linked only to grains wheat, barley, and rye.[2] Cross-contamination can happen when the same fields are used to grow soy and wheat, using the same combines for harvesting, the same storage facilities, and the same transport to bring to market. A study in 2010 done by celiac dietitian Tricia Thompson on ‘gluten-free’ grains who found that “(soy was one of the worst offenders — in fact, one sample of soy flour contained a whopping 2,925 parts per million of gluten (for comparison, less than 20 parts per million generally is considered “gluten-free.”[3]

Soy is considered to be an allergic food as it is one of the top eight allergens in the U.S. A lot of people have soy intolerances that are a bit different from the standard allergies. In this case, there is no problem with soy itself.

Gluten-free certification

The safest way to find out if soy is good for each person is to look for products that are certified to be gluten-free. In the U.S. the requirement is to have less than “10 parts per million of gluten.” Choose the certified products like soy flour, soy protein for baking, soy sauce, and various others. They might contain such a little or non-amount of gluten to cause any bad reaction to it.

Click here now to get balanced by a board certified functional nutritionist!

Not all soy products are gluten-free, many of them contain some amount of it. But this amount is so small that it doesn’t cause any health problems. The best options still seem to have a diet of real, whole and slow foods that have better quality.


[1] The Little Known Soy-Gluten Connection. Accessed from:”nofollow”

[2] Is Soy Gluten-Free? Why Do I React To It? Accessed from:”nofollow”

[3] Thompson T, Lee AR, Grace T. Gluten Contamination of Grains, Seeds, and Flours in the United States: A Pilot Study. J Am Diet Assoc. 2010;110:937-940

Leave a comment